Relapse is Sweet

Our lovely friends Tim & Laura are here for the weekend with their sweeter-than-peaches dog, Angus. It’s been great catching up, eating meals, and shopping with Laura. Right now the ‘boys’ are out jamming and no doubt are resurrecting the best of the best of that seventies vibe.

Laura & me just finished a little afternoon spritzer along with a little cheese, crackers and girly talk. I threw some Chopin on the stereo just now and left Laura on the sofa to have a little nap (she’s been up since five). While she sleeps happily on the sofa – she loves Chopin – I’ve crept in here, the dining room, to do a little writing. What luck! Right in front of me is the chocolate-banana cake that Laura, cake-maker SUBLIME, made for this visit. Yum – what a nice dessert to my cheese and crackers. I’ll put on some tea and get a fork.

I’m back with my tea, fork, and a knife to cut off a sliver with however it IS a special cake (made just for this weekend), and it IS a special weekend (we don’t spend near as many weekends together with our lovely friends as we’d like), so I should cut off more than just a sliver. I’ll cut off a wedge.

O.M.G., this cake is fabulous. So moist and plump with raisins, nuts, and chocolate chips. SO much yummier than the banana-chocolate chip coffee cake that Starbucks sells. This cake blows that cake to smithereens.  This cake takes you to some wonderful place when you eat it; to a fairy land where the sun shines onto candied houses, trees grow candy apples and grass blades are made from tiny mint candies.

Mmmmmmmmmmmm… So good, so much flavour. My stomach has mouth envy as I chew…

…I swear I savoured it by chewing slow but the wedge has vanished already. It happened so lightning-quick. Maybe the wedge-piece wasn’t as generous as I remember. Maybe I’ll have just one more bite, I won’t even cut a piece off I’ll just use my fork, it’s almost clean, and take a teeny bit off the corner…

*

I’ve messed up the cake. The entire thing is full of fork marks and there are crumbs all over the place. My cake-crime is obvious. Must fix. I’ll start by cleaning up these crumbs … YUMMMMM. Now all I need to do is cut the edges smooth, like so…

Oops, another slice fell off. My bad. Must get rid of evidence.

I think I need a sharper knife – this one keeps making mistakes. Cake, cake, oh delicious cake: I’m sorry that I cut you crooked. Here, let me fix you, let me even-up your crooked edge…

*

*BURP*

Uh-oh, there isn’t much cake left for the others to eat. I still want more but I have to save SOME for dessert tonight. There is only one way to stop a sweet craving: salt. Good thing I bought Ruffles for the Tim & Laura visit…

*

BODY STATS:

Weight: blob
Body fat ratio: wha? …<crunch …crunch …crunch> …you say something?


2 Comments on “Relapse is Sweet”

  1. […] a mesomorph? Relapse is Sweet […]

  2. Shannon S says:

    I….MUST…..HAVE…..RECIPE!!!!


Leave a comment